The Next Big Thing

Posted: November 29, 2012 in Uncategorized

The Next Big Thing is a questionnaire for writers regarding their works in progress or upcoming books. Each writer answers the questions, then tags five others. I was tagged by Edward Morris who was tagged by Dave-Brendon de Burgh, who was in turn tagged by Joan De La Haye.  Participation entirely voluntary.Rules of the Next Big Thing ***Use this format for your post ***Answer the ten questions about your current WIP (work in progress) ***Tag five other writers/bloggers & add their links so we can hop over and meet them.

-What is your working title of your book?

The Wake at the House of Dead Cats. You could call it a collection, but it’s more a series of unified neuroses. It centers around a nefarious silent film. The film is preceded by pieces that function as a newsreel and a serial. It is followed by a stag reel of sorts. It’s influenced heavily by cult cinema, the occult, Robert W. Chambers, Robert E. Howard, bondage filmmaker Irving Klaw, Bette Page, a disintegrating relationship, the nightmare of our separation from God, the dysfunction of our country’s animus and the awesomeness of chainsaws and things that are dieselpowered. It will also be accompanied by artwork from the peerless Nick Gucker.

-What genre does your book fall under?

Bizarro. Neopulp. Chainsaw Noir. Cosmic horror. Accidental grimoire. Erotica. The sound of you soiling yourself.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? For the love of God, don’t film this. Think of the children. Peel off your faces and see what’s underneath. Pray that Dieselpig will save us. Julie Newmar. Tempest Storm. Brigitte Bardot. Brigitte Bardon’t. A lion. Nikki Guerlain. An adorable blonde from the first grade named Jessica Lawless who smiled at me and I never understood why. The sailors from the Desolation Row beauty parlor. Mechagodzilla. Leza Cantoral. Nyarlathotep. Mary Jane Kelly. Hecate.

-What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? Nel mezzo del cammin de nostra vita, mi ho ritrovai in una selva oscura, che la via diritta era smarrita Bill Bailey won’t you please come hooooomme

-Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

My book will be published by Eraserhead Press. I am an agent of forces beyond your comprehension.

-How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

The central novelette of the collection came over the course of two brutal months.  Very emotionally trying. If something doesn’t make you upset, you shouldn’t write it. The other pieces came together over the following year.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

The King in Yellow, though I am of course not the equal of Mr. Chambers, Bradley  Sands’ My Heart Said No, But the Camera Crew Said Yes, Carlton Mellick’s The Baby Jesus Buttplug, The Dreamquest of Unknown Kadath and lots of silent cinema.  Pete Carroll’s Liber Null.

-Who or what inspired you to write this book?

I wanted to create a hypnotic feeling, a real intrusion. I like the idea of breaking down a form and making it something else. And I like the idea of exploring the emotional charge in words and images. There’s plot, there’s excitement, but there’s also experiments in form and content that I’m proud of.  I also have this tendency to lament the limits of good imposed upon something by its time. I always wonder what films Browning and Bunuel would have made in the 30s if there were no boundaries. So I made the disturbing silent film I wish I could watch. Or that I feel like nobody should ever watch.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Dragons. Aberrant sexuality. Dieselpig. Fine fine ladies. The subtle scent of The Old Ones.  Dieselpig.

Include the link of who tagged you and this explanation for the people you have tagged. Edward Morris tagged me. Here is the link to his blog.  I tagged Kris Saknussemm, because he’s frankly one of the best. I haven’t known his work for long but the man has become one of my biggest damn heroes. Private Midnight. Read that.  If razors had beards, they would shave with Kris  Saknussemm.  Second, I picked J. David Osborne, Wonderland Award Winner and coinstructor for my Online Bizarro Writing Workshop. Third, I selected Jeff  Burk. Jeff Burk is my editor on Wake at the House of Dead Cats and a a man who redefines all aspects of the publishing game from writing to editing just by playing it. Then, I tagged Chris Kelso. Chris is a fellow editor of Imperial Youth Review, a magazine of rebellion and transgression from Dog Horn Publishing in the UK. He is also a gutsy and antisocial prodigy.  Lastly, but certainly not leastly, I tagged Spike  Marlowe. Spike’s book Placenta of Love warmed my heart and she’s a great lady. A true priestess.  Be sure to line up your five people in advance.

Leave a Reply

