April Writing Workshop: With Special Guest Bradley Sands!

Posted: February 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

I’ve done three online writing workshops so far and now I’m gearing up for a fourth this April. And each one I’ve learned more, developed more techniques and helped more of my students increase their productivity and get their work out. Here are some things my students have had to say:

“Taking Garrett Cook’s writing workshop helped me focus my creative energy and hone my writing skills. Since the workshop I’ve sold three pieces to paying markets and anticipate many more.”- Lee Widener

You can read one of his stories, which appears alongside author Jeremy Shipp and others in THIS ANTHOLOGY. Not too shabby. Lee did good work in the workshop and continues to forge ahead in his writing career.

“I’ve taken two Garrett Cook bizarro workshops, and they’ve done wonders for my writing. Mr. Cook creates a friendly working environment with a fair share of compliments, and constructive critiques that are none too harsh for the amateur writer of bizarro. I’ve since had one workshop story accepted for print publication, and another in the market.:”- Joseph Bouthiette Jr.

Last workshop, Joe submitted his first week’s homework to an anthology. It was accepted.

“Garrett Cook’s writing workshop was awesome. It helped me be more confident with my writing. He knows what he is doing. He is a published author in the Bizarro genre so he knows what works and what doesn’t. Two of the stories I worked on in the October workshop have since been published.”- Daniel Vlasaty

Daniel’s work showed great progress throughout the workshop. He’s learned a lot and is becoming a very impressive writer.

It’s been great that I’ve seen so much progress from these students and I can’t wait to see what the next workshop’s group will do. Especially since I’ve got some help this time. From this guy.

That’s right. Bradley Sands. Author of Sorry, I Ruined Your Orgy, My Heart Said No, But the Camera Crew Said Yes, Rico Slade Will Fucking Kill You and Please, Do Not Shoot Me in the Face. As editor of Bust Down the Door and Eat All the Chickens, for years, Bradley was a gatekeeper for Bizarro and absurdist talent. When I thought about expanding the workshop, I immediately thought of Bradley and was thrilled when he said yes.

Kevin Shamel, editor of the New Bizarro Author Series, the best way for an author to get started in writing Bizarro has this to say about April’s Workshop:

“Garrett Cook’s workshop has already helped writers produce books that have gotten my attention for the New Bizarro Author Series–throwing Bradley Sands into the mix can only bring better bizarro into being.”

Joining this workshop, working with Bradley and I, you might just have a chance to break into Bizarro writing via the NBAS or other Bizarro publishers. You’ll get to do four informative exercises, two from Bradley, two from myself, you’ll get advice on breaking into Bizarro and advice on making your work weirder and better. And it will only cost you $30 for a month of Bizarro education online in the comfort of your own home.

Sounds good? Get the final details and sign up by clicking the Paypal button at the bottom of THIS PAGE.

Comments
  1. […] go HERE, read some testimonials from former students, find out a little more and find out how to sign up. […]

Leave a comment